top of page

Music

Music is an area of Spanish culture that is heavily influenced by the United States. When I was at restaurants, bars, or even listening to music with friends, I was surprised by how it seemed like we were practically listening to radio in the United States; popular artists in the states like Snoop Dog, Beyonce, and The Lumineers share similar success in Spain, as well. Although I heard Spanish music here and there, the more popular music, especially for my generation, mostly comes from America.

One of my favorite artists from Spain in Manu Chao, an alternative multilingual musician who grew up in Galicia. I actually knew about Manu Chao before I went to Spain, but many locals knew him and were happy to discuss his music with me. I also went to a concert café called Señora Pop downtown and saw a performer who was originally from the UK but had lived in Spain for the past couple of years. Her music was mostly in English, but she did incorporate some Spanish songs, as well! Overall, music was a way for me to see how American culture has a dominant presence worldwide. I would love to learn more about local Spanish artists in the future when I return to Spain!




bottom of page