top of page

Moving Forward

Moving forward with my study abroad experience has been an interesting process. Although I had a great time in Spain, I can’t help but feel shorted from my overall experience. Studying abroad for one semester was already an area of compromise for me, so cutting down even more on my time there has been difficult to come to terms with. I feel like there is so much more I would have done in Spain, given that I was originally going to stay there for 25 weeks instead of 7.


At the moment, everybody in the world is adjusting our day-to-day lives to stay healthy and protect those closest to us. I think it has been easy for me to become swept up in current events to avoid thinking about the big picture when the world eventually returns to normal. Studying abroad was the most important goal for me coming into college, and now I am left with the question: what’s next?


As I finish my undergraduate degree next year, I realize that it will become more difficult for me to study internationally after leaving college. Still, I have begun to research post-graduate ways to study or live abroad. Currently, I am hoping to be a member of the Fulbright program and work abroad as a teaching assistant for a year after I graduate.

In the meantime, I will need to stay motivated during my senior year if I hope to accomplish this goal. The Fulbright program is prestigious and selective, so I will need to continue developing myself as an individual and as a candidate for after I graduate. Since I am almost done with my Spanish major, I will use my independent study project, conversation groups, and any remaining coursework to improve my language abilities. Overall, I am grateful that I had the opportunity to study abroad for any amount of time, and that I was able to safely return home given the current circumstances. I still plan on continuing my international experiences and look forward for the opportunities to come!


Fulbright Program logo and map of Fulbright scholar locations.

bottom of page